Monday, February 21, 2011

KOREA, Mt. Seorak

Covering Sokcho city, Yangyang county, Goseong county and Inje county in Gangwon Province, Mt. Seoraksan covers an area of 398.539§´. It is also Korea's third highest mountain after Halla Mountain (1,950m) and Jiri Mountain (1,915m). As indicated by its name, Mt. Seoraksan is a mountain that symbolizes snow during the winter season, being the first mountain in Korea to be covered in snow and keeping the snow the longest into spring. Serving as habitat to a wide diversity of living species including endangered or rare flora and fauna, it was designated as a Natural Preserve Area by the Korean government and in 1982, as a "biosphere reserve" by UNESCO.

TAIWAN, Fireworks Display - January 1, 2011